• Call Us 888-795-4337

Understanding the Grieving Process

Losing someone, especially someone close, is never easy.  It can be what appears to be a difficult never ending road. It is no secret that each and every person will have to deal with loss and the cycle of grieving and mourning.  Moving through such a tragic time can be made easier and less scary from understanding the grieving cycle. It serves as an aid when faced with overwhelming despair.  The seven stages of grieving are as follows:

  1. Shock and Denial
  2. Pain and Guilt
  3. Anger and Bargaining
  4. “Depression”, Reflection, and Loneliness
  5. The Upward Turn
  6. Reconstruction and Working Through
  7. Acceptance and Hope

Working with a counselor, family, and friends throughout these stages brings comfort and support.  It is important to remember that all of these are natural and occur differently within each person.  Undertaking each step at a time brings the light at the end of the tunnel a little closer; finally with the arrival of “acceptance and hope”.


Leave a Reply